News Centre

A Selwyn College newsletter is published almost every Friday during the school year.  Copies are available from the main school office.  However, you can access these weekly newsletters below. If you would like to be emailed this link each week please contact Julie Arnold.
Te Kahu Pokere Soars

Ahakoa he iti he pounamu - Although it is small it is a treasure.Selwyn College Kapa haka group, Te Kahu Pokere, performed at Polyfest.  This event is acelebration of Maori and Pasifika cultures.This year the roopu was made up of a dedicated and hardworking core of mostly junior students. We really must acknowledge the courage and determination of the junior members. The year 11 and year 12 students were amazing tuakana to the newest members of the group. Rawiri Collins and Maia Royal were our student leaders and truly soared leading waiata a ringa, poi, moteatea and haka.Those of us, teachers and whanau,  who were able to be there were thrilled by the polished performance as were the large numbers of teachers and students who watched the performance live. The key impression from many was how fantastic the group looked and sounded, filling the stage with pride. Ka mau te wehi!A huge thanks go to Whaea Fi and tutor Piripi Davis Jnr who gave up so much time. A big thank you too to the parents, staff and extended families who worked behind the scenes to support the students over the last intensive weeks, thank you to those staff and families for providing food and assisting with homework amongst all the things you do for our rangatahi.

Jaden Merlo Soars amongst the Best

A huge congratulations to Jaden who has just been selected for the New Zealand Junior Mens’ Team (U19) for Inline Hockey. The team are off to represent our country in Barcelona at the end of June and we wish Jaden all the very best! 

More news items

Social Media